> For the complete documentation index, see [llms.txt](https://help.cerby.com/llms.txt). Markdown versions of documentation pages are available by appending `.md` to page URLs; this page is available as [Markdown](https://help.cerby.com/cerby-web-app/collections/managing-your-collections/delete-a-collection.md).

# Delete a collection

This article describes how to delete a collection in your workspace.

{% hint style="info" %}
**Who can use this feature?**

* Workspace **Owners**, **Super Admins**, **Admins**, **Users**, and **Guest Users**
* Collection **Owners**
* Only supported using the Cerby web app
  {% endhint %}

As a collection **Owner**, you can delete a collection from your workspace. With this action, all workspace members and teams with shared access to the collection lose access to it, and you can choose to keep or delete the items.

{% hint style="info" %}
**NOTE:** Nested subcollections always become root collections after a deletion. For more information about subcollections, read the article [Subcollections](https://help.cerby.com/getting-started/concepts/credential-management/subcollections).
{% endhint %}

To delete a collection, you must complete the following steps:

1. Log in to your [Cerby](https://app.cerby.com/) workspace.
2. Select the **Collections** option from the left menu. The **Collections** page is displayed.
3. Click the **More options** (...) icon of the corresponding collection card. A drop-down menu is displayed.
4. Select the **Delete collection** option. The **Delete collection?** dialog box is displayed.
5. Select how you want to delete the collection:
   * **Delete the collection and access granted at the collection level:** Items within the collection remain in your workspace.
     1. Click the **Delete collection** button. The dialog box closes, and a success message is displayed.
   * **Delete the collection, the access, and the items inside it from your workspace:** Items within the collection are also deleted.

{% hint style="warning" %}
**IMPORTANT:** Be careful when selecting this option because accounts and business hub integrations can be restored by their item **Owners**, but secrets cannot.
{% endhint %}

1. Click the **Delete collection** button. A confirmation dialog box is displayed with the information of all the items to be deleted.
2. Click the **Delete all items** button. The dialog box closes, and a success message is displayed.

{% hint style="info" %}
**NOTE:** When you delete a collection containing business hubs and assets, Cerby removes all users and team members from the external apps. For more information, read the article[ Manage access to business hubs and assets with collections](https://help.cerby.com/setup-and-admin/identity-lifecycle-management-idlcm/business-hubs/managing-your-integrations/manage-access-to-business-hubs-and-assets-with-collections).
{% endhint %}

Now you are done.


---

# Agent Instructions
This documentation is published with GitBook. GitBook is the documentation platform designed so that both humans and AI agents can read, navigate, and reason over technical content effectively. Learn more at gitbook.com.

## Querying This Documentation
If you need additional information that is not directly available in this page, you can query the documentation by asking a question.

Perform an HTTP GET request on the following URL with the `ask` and `goal` query parameters:

```
GET https://help.cerby.com/cerby-web-app/collections/managing-your-collections/delete-a-collection.md?ask=<question>&goal=<user_goal>
```

`ask` is the immediate question: it should be specific, self-contained, and written in natural language.
`goal` is what the user is ultimately trying to achieve, the reason they need the answer. Sharing it helps GitBook give you a better, more relevant answer. A goal is most helpful when it describes the outcome the user wants rather than restating the question. For example, with `ask=how do I create an API token`, a goal like `automate deployments from our CI pipeline` lets GitBook tailor the answer to that use case.

The response will contain a direct answer to the question and relevant excerpts and sources from the documentation.

Use this mechanism when the answer is not explicitly present in the current page, you need clarification or additional context, or you want to retrieve related documentation sections.
