How to save and manage account notes

This article describes how to add and manage notes to save additional information about your accounts.

Cerby Team avatar
Written by Cerby Team
Updated over a week ago

With Cerby, you have a secure way to save additional information about your accounts.

The Account Notes feature enables you to add information to your account data, making it visible to other users with shared access to the account. Instead of adding an individual secret, you can use the Notes field to save text-based information such as the following:

  • Expiration dates for your licenses

  • The point of contact for more information about licenses

  • The tenant to which the account or license belongs

  • Reminders

Only users with the Account Owner role on an account can add and edit a note, and both Account Owners and Account Collaborators can view the note of a shared account.

Account notes can be imported to Cerby from your password notes in LastPass. For more information, read the How to use the Password Manager Importer article.

The Account Notes feature is available for any account and user within a Cerby workspace. The Notes field is accessible through the account details page using the Cerby web app.

This article describes how to save and manage account notes.


Save and edit an account note

Only users with the Account Owner role on an account can save a note and edit it. To do so, you must complete the following steps using the Cerby web app:

  1. Log in to your corresponding Cerby workspace. The All accounts view is displayed.

  2. Click the Settings icon of the corresponding account card. The account details page is displayed with the Settings tab activated, as shown in Figure 1.

    Screenshot of the account details page, where you can manage your account and save additional information in the Notes field.

    Figure 1. Account details page

  3. Click the Edit icon of the Notes field located in the More details section to make it editable.

  4. Enter the information.

  5. Click the Done icon to save the information. A success message box is displayed.

    NOTE: You can discard the changes to the Notes field by performing the following actions:

    1. Click the Cancel icon. The Discard your changes? dialog box is displayed.

    2. Click the Yes, discard changes button. The dialog box closes, and the changes are discarded.


View an account note

Users with the Account Owner or Account Collaborator role on an account can view the note. To do so, you must complete the following steps using the Cerby web app:

  1. Log in to your corresponding Cerby workspace. The All accounts view is displayed.

  2. Click the Settings icon of the corresponding account card. The account details page is displayed with the Settings tab activated and the Notes field in the More details section.

    NOTE: If you have the Account Collaborator role on the account, you must perform the following actions to access the account details page:

    1. Click the More options icon of the corresponding account card. A drop-down list is displayed.

    2. Select the Account details option. The account details page is displayed with the Notes field in the More details section.


Copy an account note

Users with the Account Owner or Account Collaborator role on an account can copy the content of a note. To do so, you must complete the following steps using the Cerby web app:

  1. Log in to your corresponding Cerby workspace. The All accounts view is displayed.

  2. Click the Settings icon of the corresponding account card. The account details page is displayed with the Settings tab activated and the Notes field in the More details section.

    NOTE: If you have the Account Collaborator role on the account, you must perform the following actions to access the account details page:

    1. Click the More options icon of the corresponding account card. A drop-down list is displayed.

    2. Select the Account details option. The account details page is displayed with the Notes field in the More details section.

  3. Click the Copy icon of the Notes field. The content is copied to the clipboard.

Did this answer your question?