All Collections
Cerby Protect
Managing your trusted devices
How to set up and manage your trusted devices
How to set up and manage your trusted devices

This article describes how to set up and manage the trusted devices you use to access Cerby.

Cerby Team avatar
Written by Cerby Team
Updated over a week ago

At Cerby, trusted devices help strengthen the security of your accounts. They provide an additional layer of protection by ensuring that all interactions with the Cerby platform come from authorized devices that meet corporate security standards.

These devices are vital in local encryption vaults, where the encryption and decryption operations happen decentralized on such devices. They must be set up and registered by Cerby because they hold the corresponding encryption and decryption keys to access and decrypt the data of your accounts and secrets stored in your vaults.

A trusted device can be any of the three client apps you use to access a workspace: Cerby web app, Cerby browser extension, and Cerby mobile app.

NOTE: If you access the Cerby web app in different web browsers, each web app can be a trusted device. It also applies if you install the Cerby browser extension in different browsers.

Regardless of their workspace role, all users must set up a trusted device, and they can have up to 10 registered devices. When reaching the limit, users must disable a device before setting up a new one.

Trusted devices are associated with their users; therefore, when a user is deprovisioned, all of their registered trusted devices are disabled automatically.

After setting up trusted devices, the management actions on them can only be performed using the Cerby web app.

This article describes how to set up and manage your trusted devices.


Set up a trusted device

Trusted devices are a security requirement to use Cerby; therefore, all users must set up at least one device.

When users join Cerby or log in to their workspace with any of the Cerby client apps, the Set up a trusted device dialog box, page, or screen is displayed automatically, as shown in Figure 1 for the Cerby web app.

Screenshot of the Set up a trusted device dialog box in the Cerby web app with the Remind me later and Start buttons.

Figure 1. Set up a trusted device dialog box in the Cerby web app

To set up a trusted device, you must complete the following steps from the Set up a trusted device dialog box, page, or screen in the Cerby web app, browser extension, or mobile app, respectively:

  1. Click the Start button. The Name your device dialog box is displayed.

  2. Enter a name for your device in the Device name field.

    NOTE: Cerby recommends using a name you can easily recognize and including the name of your web browser or mobile operating system. Device names must be unique.

  3. Click the Next button. A message with a verification code is sent to your email, and the Verify your device dialog box is displayed.

  4. Copy the verification code from the email Cerby sent you.

    IMPORTANT: The verification code expires in 5 minutes.

  5. Enter the code in the Verification code field.

  6. Click the Verify code button. The dialog box closes, and a success message box is displayed.

If you clicked the Remind me later button in the Set up a trusted device dialog box or screen, and you want to set up your device, perform the following actions depending on your client app:

  • Cerby web app

    1. Click the user profile menu located at the top right of the dashboard. A drop-down menu is displayed.

    2. Select the My Profile option. The My Profile page is displayed.

    3. Activate the My trusted devices tab.

    4. Click the Set up a device button. The Set up a trusted device dialog box is displayed.

    5. Follow the instructions to set up your device.

  • Cerby browser extension

    1. Open the Cerby browser extension popup.

    2. Click the user profile icon located at the top right of the popup. The My Profile page is displayed.

    3. Click the Set up new device button. The Set up a trusted device page is displayed.

    4. Follow the instructions to set up your device.

  • Cerby mobile app

    1. Click the user profile icon located at the top right of the screen. A side menu is displayed.

    2. Click the Set up a new device button. The Set up a trusted device screen is displayed.

    3. Follow the instructions to set up your device.

Now you can start managing your trusted devices.


Manage the trusted devices in a workspace

Workspace Owners and Workspace Admins can perform the following management actions on the trusted devices that all of the users within a workspace have set up:

The following sections describe each action.

View the devices in your workspace

To view the trusted devices in your Cerby workspace, you must complete the following steps:

  1. Select the Settings option from the left navigation drawer. The Workspace Configuration page is displayed.

  2. Activate the Trusted devices tab. A table with the list of trusted devices in your workspace is displayed, as shown in Figure 2.

Screenshot of the Trusted devices tab in the Workspace Configuration page. A table of trusted devices is displayed.

Figure 2. Trusted devices tab in the Workspace Configuration page

Disable a user’s device

Workspace Owners and Workspace Admins can disable the trusted devices that users in their workspace have set up.

To disable a user’s device, you must complete the following steps:

  1. Select the All members option from the left navigation drawer. The All members page is displayed with a table of users.

  2. Click the corresponding user account from the table. The user details page is displayed.

  3. Activate the Trusted devices tab. A table with the list of trusted devices that the user has set up is displayed.

  4. Click the Remove icon of the corresponding device. The Remove device? dialog box is displayed.

  5. Click the Remove device button. The dialog box closes, a success message box is displayed, and the device is displayed in the table with the Removed status.

NOTE: Cerby does not completely remove a device because it keeps an audit of all the devices that have been used. Disabled devices cannot be re-enabled; however, you can set up again a device that was previously disabled.


Manage your trusted devices

Workspace Users can perform the following actions after registering a trusted device:

The following sections describe each action.

View your devices

To view the trusted devices you have set up in Cerby, you must complete the following steps:

  1. Click your user profile, located at the top right of the Cerby dashboard. A drop-down list is displayed.

  2. Select the My Profile option. The My Profile page is displayed.

  3. Activate the My trusted devices tab. A table with the list of trusted devices you have set up is displayed, as shown in Figure 3.

Screenshot of the My trusted devices tab in the My profile page. A table with trusted devices is displayed.

Figure 3. My trusted devices tab in the My profile page

Disable your device

To disable a device you have set up in Cerby, you must complete the following steps:

  1. Click your user profile, located at the top right of the Cerby dashboard. A drop-down list is displayed.

  2. Select the My Profile option. The My Profile page is displayed.

  3. Activate the My trusted devices tab. A table with the list of trusted devices you have set up is displayed.

  4. Click the Remove icon of the corresponding device. The Remove device? dialog box is displayed.

  5. Click the Remove device button. The dialog box closes, a success message box is displayed, and the device is displayed in the table with the Removed status.

NOTE: Cerby does not completely remove a device because it keeps an audit of all the devices that have been used. Disabled devices cannot be re-enabled; however, you can set up again a device that was previously disabled.

Did this answer your question?