All Collections
Cerby Protect
Managing your secrets
View the secret history and restore a secret
View the secret history and restore a secret

This article describes how to view the history and restore the secrets you've added or that you were granted shared access as Owner in Cerby

Cerby Team avatar
Written by Cerby Team
Updated over a week ago

Who can use this feature?

  • Workspace Owners, Super Admins, Admins, and Users

  • Secret Owners

  • Available to the Cerby Automate and Cerby Protect products. Cerby Protect users must have already set up their trusted devices

To view the secret history and restore a secret to a previous version, you must complete the following steps using the Cerby web app:

  1. Log in to your corresponding Cerby workspace.

  2. Select the Secrets option from the left navigation drawer. The Secrets view is displayed.

  3. Click the Settings icon of the corresponding secret card. The secret details page is displayed with the Settings tab activated.

    NOTE: If an identity challenge is configured, the Confirm your identity to continue dialog box is displayed, and a push notification is sent to your Cerby mobile app. To confirm your identity, perform the following action:

    1. Click the It’s me! button in the Confirmation Request screen of your Cerby mobile app. The Confirm your identity to continue dialog box closes in the Cerby web app, and the secret details page is displayed with the Settings tab activated.

  4. Click the Secret history icon. The Secret history dialog box is displayed with the history of the secret displayed on the left pane.
    NOTE: Cerby registers the date and time when the secret details are modified and the user who edited the information.

  5. Select the date and time that corresponds to the version you want to restore. The secret details of the version are displayed on the right pane.

    IMPORTANT: Attachment history is not supported.

  6. Click the Restore button. The dialog box closes, a success message box is displayed, and the secret details on the Settings tab are restored.

Did this answer your question?