All Collections
Cerby Protect
Managing your secrets
Manage access to your secrets and secret items
Manage access to your secrets and secret items

This article describes how to manage access to the secrets you have added or that you were granted shared access as Owner in Cerby.

Cerby Team avatar
Written by Cerby Team
Updated over a week ago

Who can use this feature?

  • Workspace Owners, Super Admins, Admins, and Users

  • Secret and secret item Owners

  • Available to the Cerby Automate and Cerby Protect products. Cerby Protect users must have already set up their trusted devices

You can perform the following management actions on a secret and secret item (WiFi, SSH keys, database, server, and custom item):

The following sections describe each action.


Share access to a secret or secret item in Cerby

You can share access to a secret or secret item using the following Cerby client apps:

Cerby web app

To share access to a secret or secret item with other users and teams using the Cerby web app, you must complete the following steps:

  1. Log in to your corresponding Cerby workspace.

  2. Select the Secrets option from the left navigation drawer. The Secrets view is displayed.

  3. Click the Share secret icon of the corresponding secret card. A drop-down list is displayed.

  4. Select the Share item option. The Share secret dialog box is displayed.

    TIP: You can also open the Share secret dialog box by performing the following steps:

    1. Click the Settings icon of the corresponding secret card. The secret details page is displayed with the Settings tab activated.

    2. Activate the Members tab.

    3. Click the Share secret button. The Share secret dialog box is displayed.

  5. Enter the name of the user or team in the search bar. The users or teams that match the name are displayed on a list below the search bar.

  6. Select the corresponding user or team from the list. The user or team is displayed in the Members and Teams section.

    TIP: Repeat steps 2 and 3 to select multiple users or teams.

  7. Select the corresponding role on the secret from the Role drop-down list:

    • Owner: They can share access, edit, add attachments, and manage the secret settings.

    • Collaborator: They can only view the secret and download the attachments.

  8. Click the Share button. The dialog box closes, and a success message box is displayed.

Cerby mobile app

To share access to a secret with other users and teams using the Cerby mobile app, you must complete the following steps:

  1. Open the Cerby mobile app.

  2. Log in to your corresponding workspace with the Cerby mobile app.

  3. Activate the Secrets tab located at the top of the screen. All your saved and shared secrets and secret items are displayed.

  4. Tap the corresponding secret card. The secret details screen is displayed on the screen.

  5. Tap the Share icon located at the top-right corner of the screen. The Share item screen is displayed.

  6. Enter the name of the user or team in the search bar of the Select members and teams section. The users or teams that match the name are displayed on a list below the search bar.

  7. Select the corresponding user or team from the list. The user or team is displayed below the search bar.

  8. Select the corresponding role on the secret from the Assign role section:

    • Owner: They can share access, edit, add attachments, and manage the secret settings.

    • Collaborator: They can only view the secret and download the attachments.

  9. Tap the Share item button. The screen closes, and the users with shared access are displayed in the Members section of the secret details screen.


Share access to a secret or secret item with external users via a link

To share access to a secret or secret item with external users via a link, follow the instructions in the article How to share items with external users via a link.


Change the Cerby role on a secret or secret item

To change the Cerby role of users and teams on a secret or secret item, you must complete the following steps using the Cerby web app:

  1. Log in to your corresponding Cerby workspace.

  2. Select the Secrets option from the left navigation drawer. The Secrets view is displayed.

  3. Click the Settings icon of the corresponding secret card. The secret details page is displayed with the Settings tab activated.

    NOTE: If an identity challenge is configured, the Confirm your identity to continue dialog box is displayed, and a push notification is sent to your Cerby mobile app. To confirm your identity, perform the following action:

    1. Click the It’s me! button in the Confirmation Request screen of your Cerby mobile app. The Confirm your identity to continue dialog box closes in the Cerby web app, and the secret details page is displayed with the Settings tab activated.

  4. Activate the Members tab. The Shared Access table is displayed with the list of users who have access to the secret.

  5. Click the role of the user or team you want to change from the Cerby role column. A drop-down list is displayed.

  6. Select the corresponding role from the list:

    • Owner: They can share access, edit, add attachments, and manage the secret settings.

    • Collaborator: They can only view the secret and download the attachments.


Remove access to a secret or secret item

To remove user or team access to a secret or secret item, you must complete the following steps using the Cerby web app:

  1. Log in to your corresponding Cerby workspace.

  2. Select the Secrets option from the left navigation drawer. The Secrets view is displayed.

  3. Click the Settings icon of the corresponding secret card. The secret details page is displayed with the Settings tab activated.

    NOTE: If an identity challenge is configured, the Confirm your identity to continue dialog box is displayed, and a push notification is sent to your Cerby mobile app. To confirm your identity, perform the following action:

    1. Click the It’s me! button in the Confirmation Request screen of your Cerby mobile app. The Confirm your identity to continue dialog box closes in the Cerby web app, and the secret details page is displayed with the Settings tab activated.

  4. Activate the Members tab. The Shared Access table is displayed with the list of users who have access to the secret.

  5. Click the More options icon of the corresponding user or team. A drop-down list is displayed.

  6. Select the Remove access option. The Remove access? dialog box is displayed.

  7. Click the Remove access button. The dialog box closes, and a success message box is displayed.

Did this answer your question?